CTEC Council Executive

 President: Tim Kilburn
780.799.5735 | phone 

I have been teaching CTS related courses for over 25 years primarily in the BIT cluster. As a Department Head, I became more familiar with other clusters and am now a Technology Consultant with Fort McMurray Catholic Schools. In partnership with local industry and post-secondary, we have introduced a program emphasizing careers in the Energy Industry including Electrical, Millwright, Instrumentation and Power Engineering. I believe that CTS skill development of our youth is as important as the "Core" programs. I have been on the Council Executive since 2011 as PD Northeast Director and the 2015 Conference Director.


Vice President: Deborah MacFadyen

Deborah MacFadyen, currently with Calgary Board of Education as the Site Leader of Westbrook Outreach School, is an experienced K-12 educator, administrator, PD facilitator and published author whose academic credentials include B.Sc., B.Ed. and M.Ed. in Teaching, Learning and Supervision. Deborah has served in school, central office and Alberta Education settings in leadership roles in math, science, IOP, K&E courses, CTS courses, Career Pathways, Off-Campus and Health and Safety initiatives.  Deborah is one of the founding members of the CTS Provincial Coordinator group and the Alberta Education Health and Safety Advisory panel for the CTS Provincial Safety Committee.

As a former K&E and CTS Alberta Education Resource Manager and CBE lead for the Southern Alberta CTS Resource Centre, Deborah provided innovative, strategic leadership for the acquisition, development and implementation of CTS and K&E (and former IOP as well) resource materials, programs of study and the KE online guide, the Studio in addition to a number of safety resources, particularly, the Alberta Education Integrating Health and Safety document and the CTS Health and Safety Handbook. As an author with McGraw-Hill Ryerson, Rogue Media, Classroom Video and Alberta Education, she has written both academic and occupational curriculum and resources.

Deborah has facilitated many diverse professional development opportunities and partnerships across the province with school jurisdictions, post-secondary, business and industry and ATA Councils. She continues to mentor student learners, teachers and administrators in implementing provincial legislation, regulation, policy, programs of study using effective pedagogical practice and personalization of learning. 


 Past President: Lloyd Bloomfield

780.424.1270 | phone

Lloyd Bloomfield is an experienced Construction and Design teacher with Edmonton Public Schools who is also the current Assistant Principal at the Amiskwaciy Academy. He was previously the CTS Department Head at Harry Ainlay School. As well as being a journeyman carpenter, Lloyd is the district lead for Design Studies for EPSB, a long-time volunteer and supporter for many CTS competitions, and an active member of a number of CTS-related professional organizations at the provincial level.